Fire Safety Awareness

Fire SafetyCertified by Chartered Institute of Environmental Health Awards in Fire Safety

The Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005 (RRO), which became law on 1 October 2006, abolished the requirement for certain premises to hold a fire certificate; instead it requires the ‘responsible person’ (employer, occupier or owner) who exercises some level of control in non-domestic premises to take reasonable steps to reduce the risk from fire and ensure safe escape for both employees and visitors. .

One required step is to ensure that all employees are provided with adequate safety training at the time they are first employed and on being exposed to new or increased risks. The training should teach the importance of fire prevention, as well as procedures to follow in the event of a fire.

The RRO also requires that the responsible person appoint one or more ‘competent persons’ to assist with fire safety in the workplace. These persons must be provided with sufficient training to be able to check that fire safety measures are in place and remain effective in reducing the risks from fire hazards.

Three new CIEH qualifications in fire safety will be launched soon to help organisations meet their duties under current fire safety legislation, and protect both people and premises from fire.

Level 1 Award in Fire Safety Awareness

Is designed for employees with no specific fire safety role and provides essential knowledge about fire safety and prevention.

Level 2 Award in Fire Safety Principles

is designed for employees who hope to develop their basic fire safety awareness in order to assist their employer by undertaking more specific fire safety roles in the workplace to manage fire risk.

“Evacuation Chair” Training – ask for details

Enquire and Book now